12
Mar
11

Day 11–Going Strong with Minor Hydraulic Leaks


Things seem to be going extraordinarily well. Every day equates to more energy and less pain. And the pain isn’t all that bad. I didn’t cry once. Pain is controlled with only a Tylenol product. All of my systems seem to be functioning well. All blood work remains normal and everything seems to be falling into place as planned. I am now only 10 pounds above my pre-op weight. At this juncture it is safe to say that there’s probably no aspect of this that could have gone any better. I seem to be healing quickly and my stamina increases every day. Currently the limiting is stamina which really drives everything else.

As I have said many times before I am highly impressed with the NMH staff. Now, being involved in the whole experience gives me yet another unique perspective from which to judge. I am well familiar with the culture within a mission driven academic institution and the commitment that comes from those involved. NMH is A Center of Excellence and all of the staff is focused on the mission like a laser. The result is an institution that attracts only the very best. If you’re not the best in what you do you would be frozen out by the others. The best attracts the best and soon you have a group of high performers probably in the upper 3% of the world. I am certain those involved in the transplant unit consider it a privilege to work and learn among their peers who are considered the best and brightest at one of the world’s leading research institutes. Nancy and I are very grateful for everything they do, especially being on the receiving end.

I also have a new appreciation for my skin. Skin is very useful because it keeps the body held together and all the wet stuff inside. And when it leaks, we usually have a good idea of the source through quick process of elimination. However in my case, and all of my noncompliant holes, I don’t know from where all the leaks emanate. Part of the healing processes getting rid of the liquids. After leaving the hospital they still have drains hooked up, but after being home for two days they remove the drains which means the Staples leak a lot. Frankly, it looks like 5606 hydraulic fluid. So, if I wanted to escape it would be difficult because one would only have to follow a trail to find me. I have also found a new use for them feminine products–they are great for soaking up the hydraulic fluid. (Maxi pads nighttime SKU #462 180 6381 thanks David for your advice) Anyway, this is all normal, but continually leak checks are always the order of the day. In the meantime, with all the bandages on my front I’m scared to go outside as I could be mistaken as a bomber.

So, I am very pleased with the results so far. My docs say in six months will be able to ski all day without a problem. I could not have asked for a better outcome.


6 Responses to “Day 11–Going Strong with Minor Hydraulic Leaks”


  1. March 12, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    Sounds great Dan, we are so happy everything going good for you and Nancy.
    All my best,
    Rick

  2. 2 Bonnie Munao
    March 12, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    Hi Dan,
    So glad you are so pleased…………cause when you are pleased, we are pleased and everso trilled for your obvious quick recovery. What a trip, so glad it’s going well and we continue to hold good thoughts and thankful prayers that all will continue in the direction you are going. We look forward to your messages and will stay tuned for the next one.
    Love to Nancy and all…………
    Bonnie & Andy

  3. 3 Kaya Doyle
    March 13, 2011 at 9:01 am

    Hope the healing continues – prayers are still coming!
    Kaya

  4. 4 Hannah Goralski
    March 13, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    Hi Dan and Nancy!!!
    I’m Hannah from Northwestern. I’m Mark, the kidney reciepant’s daughter, and Josh, the donor’s sister. I’m so glad all is going so well for you guys!

    Hannah Goralski

  5. 5 John Foster
    March 14, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    Dan – You, Nancy and the family are our heros for sharing your thoughts and keeping us all up to date on your journey. You are the best of the best too.

    Keep on healin’! After all you have gone through the rest of us are going to have a hard time getting any sympathy because we have a tooth ache. Hope to join you on the ski slopes next season. John and Linda

  6. March 20, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    Dan, Nancy and ALL—

    WOW! I have been reading, praying and saving space for your stories. This feels like a miracle that was thoughtfully planned, carefully chosen, and gratefully received.

    I am so, so, so happy for all of you. Dan, you mean the world to so many of us, for reasons you may never know. Thank you for allowing us to be supporters through this journey. I think it has made us all better people, with you guys clearly at the end of the list.

    Will we get a picture the “new” liver? The pic of you in the hospital gown, with the i-pad. was nothing short of spectacular.


Leave a Reply

