06
Mar
11

Hello test, test, testing…


Dan here….

Thanks to very one for the very kind notes and call. All of us are very appreciative and we will all talk soon.

So, it all seemed to go on planed. They caught me at the office around 1pm on Monday. I can always tell when it is one of those liver calls, because the coordinators flip to their talking points so they can cover the contingencies. These ladies are real trained professionals, they have been in the game a long time, and know their stuff. Anyway, this had been the prefect one they were looking for and I should show up around 6PM. I called Nancy and the girls and we all met at the condo and walked over to NW at 6PM. The liver was a short flight away – I think Peoria- and it would be in around 8PM. They promised they wouldn’t tale the old part out before the new one arrived …..

It takes about an hour for prep before they even start the de-installation. They put you under for that which was the last I remember. It took 4 hours to remove the old liver. My surgeon said I had a “massive organ” so now my friend Terry refers to me as his friend that used to have a massive organ. They thought the old liver looked pretty good, but the new liver was really, really good.

The entire op took 11 hours or so. And it all went as planned.

The next thing remember was fuzzy, but there was no pain and I told the Surgeon the next day it was a non-event. But that is before all of the plumbing re-boots. And it is easier to shut down than it is to start up again. I’ve been home now since Friday Afternoon and it all gets slowly back in sync. The home nurse was in yesterday and today. And tomorrow I spend the entire day in clinic. They say my blood work is really good and all the things I check at home are looking good as well.

So, the bottom line is I could not ask for this chapter of As the liver turns….

To have gone any better…


7 Responses to “Hello test, test, testing…”


  1. 1 Jane Clery
    March 6, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    We are so glad to hear you are doing so well. I have to believe that your positive approach to life is a key factor. You have the best nursing care available – Nancy, Anne and Laurie. We will keep you in our prayers.

    Jane

  2. March 6, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    You and this outcome have both been answers to many prayers. We are celebrating with you…

    Gary & Jennifer Frey

  3. 3 Jim & Louise
    March 6, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    Dan, I keep saying You are amazing! You are so blessed! I’ve been trying to write a little something
    to you/about you everyday. Today, Ill just say Well Done Keep Getting Better and lastly, regarding one particular comment
    in tonight’s blog….I think that “organ” reference should be left to Nancy’s opinion.

    Lots of love & stuff
    Louise & Jim

  4. March 7, 2011 at 9:39 am

    Hey Dan,

    You are remarkable! … sharing your story with us has been our gift.

    Thank you so much for this and for the strength you have.

    Cheering you (and your family) on, has been (and continues to be) wonderful.

    Happy Days ahead 🙂

    Enjoy!

    Rosemary Gullo.

  5. 5 Cabrini Jablon
    March 10, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    Dan,

    Great to hear from you and your humor about all of this is truly amazing! So glad to hear all is going well. You continue to be in my prayers!

  6. 6 drf
    March 11, 2011 at 10:49 am

    Thanks for sharing your story, Dan. May your recovery be swift and complete!

    (and thanks again for the chat this morning, 3/11, up on 19)

    best,
    David

  7. March 17, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    Still leaking huh? It will give mom a great reason to buy new bedding. and maxi pads and tampons. I hear you walked to the clinic on your own today, nice work!


Leave a Reply

