04
Mar
11

Outta Here!


Mom and dad are packed and ready to get out of the hospital. Sometime after noon Dad will be discharged! Right now there is a parade of staff giving them post-transplant instructions. There is a ton of new information for them!


13 Responses to “Outta Here!”


  1. 1 Kaya Doyle
    March 4, 2011 at 11:22 am

    Way to go, Dan! You are a champion!

  2. 2 Rick
    March 4, 2011 at 11:26 am

    Wonderful news!

  3. 3 Clay Garner
    March 4, 2011 at 11:29 am

    Wonder-filled events for Wonderful people. Have a fabulous weekend. I hope to get to see you next week. Clay

  4. 4 Jim & Louise
    March 4, 2011 at 11:58 am

    The best news ever!!!!!! Jim even got off the couch to read it for himself as I was telling him. Look 2 miracles in 1 day!

    So happy for all of you, now you can all breath again!

    Lots od Love & Stuff
    Louise & Jim

  5. 5 Jim & Louise
    March 4, 2011 at 12:08 pm

    This is the best news ever. Jim even got off the couch to read this for himself as I was telling him. Look, 2 miracles in 1 day!

    We are so happy for all of you.

    Now you can breath again.

    Love & stuff
    Louise & Jim

  6. 6 Amber Khan
    March 4, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    That is great news! Here’s to a speedy recovery and lots of iPad time!

  7. 7 Jennifer Frisby
    March 4, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    Way to go Danny! Take it easy and mind your manners. You may be the Woodsman, but mightier trees have been felled. Love you, Love you. Janie

  8. March 4, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    Cheers to all! Of course there is a parade for Dan … he’s such a great guy, with a great family and friends.

    Way to go Dan.

    Enjoy!

    Rosemary.

  9. 9 Kathleen Bruno
    March 4, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    Hi Dan! Congratulations on your successful transplant- Jim and I have been praying for you since we heard about the surgery. I’m so happy everything went well, and thank you to your family for keep us updated through your blog. When you’re up for it, Greg and I would love to take you out for lunch (and drinks!) to celebrate your new and improved liver!! Say hello and give my love to Nancy. We’ll have a lot to catch up on when we do lunch. All the best! Regards, Kathleen

  10. 10 Charisse
    March 4, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    Hi Dan, Nancy, Laurie and Annie!
    Thank you so much for all of the updates, I am so glad that everything went so smoothly and Dan passed with flying colors. I am not surprised because Dan you are amazing and quite a trooper. Glad to see that you are coming home today. Get lots of rest and heal quickly because I miss you. I will continue to keep you in my prayers.
    Hope you receive this, all of this blogging stuff is foreign to me.
    Take care and hope to see you very soon!
    Charisse

  11. 11 janell
    March 4, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    Hooray! So glad you are getting out. I know the instructions at dismissal sound overwhelming and the medication schedule takes some time to get used to, but it’s all part of the adventure. If you do as I did, you will lose about a pound a day for a few weeks. I loved it! Then one day, it turned around….I think I’m still gaining a pound a day. Just kidding, but I did lose about 20 pounds the first few weeks. Now I’m fat and sassy again. Are you getting rid of your drain tubes today? That is such a blessing!

    Keep in touch and if you have any questions, I’ll try to remember and help you and Nancy if possible.

    Janell

  12. 12 Mary Owens
    March 4, 2011 at 7:41 pm

    I am so glad everything went well. What a long journey. It will be spring before you know it and you won’t know what to do with yourself. Love to all and we hope a fast recovery.

  13. 13 Sue Garrison
    March 6, 2011 at 10:30 am

    Dan,
    My husband and I are amazed at the fact that one week ago you were waiting for a liver transplant and now, one week later you are home with a new liver. We will continue to follow your story as it gives us inspiration and something to look forward to as he waits to get back on the list!!!
    We are one step closer to his Y-90 procedure and hoping that he doesn’t have to wait the three months that the Doctor in Kansas had originally asked for before a CT scan. Things look promising again.
    Congratulations to you and your wife and family on your new life!!!
    Keep posting!!!


Leave a Reply

