16
Sep
10

Another false alarm (let’s have a baby instead)


I am getting really good at preparation…

I was in my Vistage meeting at 1:15 when Nina called from the transplant center. I was in Riverside, Nancy was with Annie at her Baby doc’s appointment, and Laurie at her office. They found a liver. It was local, here in Chicago, but it was on a very short notification. I had to be at NW by 3PM. They were sending the harvest team out and said they would know by 4PM for a go/no go decision.

We arrived on time to see all of our familiar faces. They did all of the vitals, blood work, etc. I was ready for more tubes and catheters (ouch!). Then the harvest team called me from their location to say it was the worst liver they have seen for a long time and they turned it down. I was dressed and leaving just as the nurses’ station was advised.

SO – my wrist bands were cut off and we came back to the Condo. This time I got my Pizza. Uno’s deep dish cheese and sausage.

Now Laurie’s house closing is back on for 9AM tomorrow and we told Annie it was OK to have her baby now. Tomorrow is her due date. Lot’s going on in the Dickinson household!

As for me, I am going to take a hot shower and then watch Glenn Beck.

Stayed tuned for the next chapter of – As the Liver Turns….


5 Responses to “Another false alarm (let’s have a baby instead)”


  1. 1 janell
    September 17, 2010 at 8:44 am

    Awwww Shucks, Dan. Why don’t you just get your liver Saturday for my birthday? I would just love that!

    Hang in there, guys.

    Janell 🙂

  2. 2 Ned and Sal
    September 17, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    Hi Dan–We have been away, wedding in Seattle, Calif. with the kids and grandkids and then Pa. to the cabin with one day home in between so I have not kept up with the Blog–Two false alarms so maybe the third will be the charm and after all this time you want the best liver you can get..So glad the MOM got her liver and is back with her family. You’ll be there soon I know. Keep the chin up and I know you will. I’ll keep checking on you and praying for a new liver soon. Love Sal

  3. September 20, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    Keep your eyes on the prize Dan. Better to wait for the “right” liver. Have trust in the surgeons and the process. Thanks for finding my blog and commenting.

  4. 4 Colleen Pitts
    September 21, 2010 at 8:33 am

    OH MAN!! This has been tough on you I am sure. But as they say the third time is the charm. You are as always in my prayers. Stay tough and it will come soon. Hey and good luck on the Grandbaby!! OMGosh I just love my 3 to pieces. Josh and Chris both getting married next year in March and April so…..more could come soon. Rick and I stay busy. You know he started his own company or should I say our own company since I am CFO. We are doing just fine with it and love the freedom it gives us. We have been blessed. Give my love to Nancy. God Bless your Family.
    Colleen

  5. 5 Mary Owens
    September 26, 2010 at 9:18 am

    Hi Dan,
    This has got to be the most frustrating thing for you. YOu are the most positive person and you seem to handle things so well. Where does that come from? I hope I have some of that Dickinson blood running through me when I go through my struggles. Hang in there and I am hoping it will happen soon for you. A NEW BABY< YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Love to all
    Mary


Leave a Reply

