06
Sep
10

They have a liver …


Well. It’s almost a go and they found a liver…

I got a call at 4PM today. The donor liver is from a non-cardiac death. They have already completed the donor family interviews and have done the various tests and biopsies on the donor liver. It is less than 5% fat and not high risk (that’s a good thing) The only thing left to do it to do a visual on it. I don’t know where the liver is coming from, but it is close because they are not flying it in.

Funny, I thought this would be our weekend. Our very close friends from San Antonio are here with us – Dean and Vicki. Dean has been an aviation industry friend of mine for years and an inspiration to me and many others. (plug for his book new book at www.deanrush.com) It is auto biography and a book about facing adversity. Dean is now a pastor at CBC in San Antonio. We were about to leave to drop him off at ORD for their flight home when I got the call, so he is sticking around. Timing is perfect. WOW, what are the chances of that !

SO – here is the plan. We are downtown so we’ll walk over to NMH around 7PM. They are sending the team out for the pre-purchase inspection of the donor liver right now. I’ve already talked to the surgeon and he cancelled his dinner plans to meet me. 80% it is a GO/20% they reject the liver during inspection. Nancy is here, Laurie and Rob will be here soon, and Annie and Will should arrive soon as well.

We’ll keep you advised on the blog and I’ll let you know when I turn over the Blog to the care, custody, and control of the kids.

Thanks you all for your thoughts and prayers. My plan is to WALK home from the hospital within 36 hours of the surgery.

I think I’ll take a shower now…


10 Responses to “They have a liver …”


  1. 1 Bonnie Munao
    September 6, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    Hi Dan, Nancy and Family,

    Andy and I will fast forward prayers that all will go well. We will stand by for news.
    Love,
    Bonnie & Andy

  2. 2 Helen
    September 6, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    Thinking of you Dan. And of course Nancy. Love Brian, Helen, Aidan and Connor xxx

  3. September 6, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    Wishing you and the family the best! I’ll be keeping you all in my prayers.
    Much Love,
    Ingie

  4. 4 Bill and Gae Miller
    September 6, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    Hallelujah! We are thrilled at the opportunity for you to have your transplant. Our prayers are with all of you and the surgical team!

    Bill and Gae Miller

  5. 5 Mike Goffman
    September 6, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    Hey Dan,
    You and your family will be in my prayers all night. Tracey and i are so excited for you, we will be here for you, anything you need – but it looks like you have what you need now my friend.
    We will stay in touch with the gang and keep all the positive energy flowing. – PEACE MIKE

  6. 6 Colleen Pitts
    September 6, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    Dan, you are the man. God is wrapping you in his protection. I am holding you in my thoughts and prayers. You deserve this my friend. You are my hero. I love you and Nancy and am proud to know you and share our lives in this wonderful place we call God’s Earth.

    I would love to have something in common with you; however, lets not have a compromised liver together ever again. OK!! You go and conquer this thing forever.

  7. 7 Tracey Goffman
    September 6, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    Dan,

    GREAT to hear the good news. Keeping my fingers crossed that this will be your time and the transplant will be a GO.

    What a divine time for your friends to be here with you. I’ll keep my message short and let you know I will be praying for you and your family and look forward to hearing about your “walk” home from NMH this week!

    Much love,
    Tracey

  8. 8 amy
    September 6, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    praying away for all involved from the drs to the family and friends

  9. 9 Jim & Louise
    September 6, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    Dan & Nancy, I just read this on Ann’ FB posting…let out a Yelp and then read it to Jim. We are so happy this turned out to be “your” weekend! We are praying for you and your entire family. Let us not forget to thank God for your donor…may his soul rest in pease. Also to keep his family in our prayers also. We may not be in ChiTown but we are still there with you.
    Lots of love, Louise & Jim

  10. 10 Diana
    September 7, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    Dearest Dan….so so sorry that that liver was wrong for you, but there is a reason,

    You and Nancy must be feeling so let down right now, but dont..!!! There will be the right one on its way. You are the most amazing person, Dan and your family know that.

    You have only been good and wonderful in this world and perhaps you are asking WHY is it taking so long? Nothing is answered quickily. Only in GODS time….

    Stu and I know that too well.

    Be patient..Good people prosper!!! We love You, Nance and your Girls

    Di and Stu xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


Leave a Reply

