12
Nov
09

Another Amazing Y90 Story (this time its me)


It has been 6 weeks since I got my Y90 treatment.  Remember, those are the little glass beads that had radiation in them.  I never did have any symptoms from it.

Last weekend I had the MRI to check the progress of the tumor.  essentially, it is dead.  The scan was done with and without the radioactive contrast.  Prior to the Y90, the tumor showed up on the MRI lit up like  Christmas tree.  Today on the scan, it was a black hole.  Gone —  as in dead tissue.  The Y90 is amazing stuff (better than Clorox!) and this is just another miracle story on the success of the treatment.

SO — what’s next?

Wait and more wait.  No more tests as far as I know.  They don’t even want to do another scan for 90 days.  As far as I am aware I have NOT had any symptoms of the disease or the cure.  But the scary stuff is if I hadn’t caught it when we did I wouldn’t have any symptoms for a few years.   It’s a lot like a jet engine — lots can be wrong with the engine and it can be a mess inside with no symptoms of failure.  Our bodies are much the same way. So get checked out early and often! Do your compressor washes, your boroscopes, and your trend monitoring on both YOU and your jet engine!  Find out about something early and it is fixable. remember, catastrophic failures are rare….

Now with all the tests I have had I have a VERY long list of all the things that are right with me (its amazing what a 6 week physical can find or not find — and only one little thing wrong with me (the now dead lesion).  But they still want to perform the transplant ….

The deal is — even with it essentially gone, the protocol is still to replace the liver.  SO — I am on the MELD list now at 22.  On December 24th I get my three bonus points and I am a MELD-25.  I can expect a liver between 25 and 28.  I get another 3 bonus points on March 24th which takes me to a MELD 28.  Bottom line is there is a 50/50 chance of a liver between December 24 and March 24.  If it doesn’t happen by March 24 it will happen very soon thereafter.

I am truly blessed.  Speed bumps in life.  All curable and fixable.


9 Responses to “Another Amazing Y90 Story (this time its me)”


  1. 1 steve stephani
    November 15, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    Hi dan, our thoughts and prayers go out to you each and every day.Sounds like everything is in check,from your blog. TAKE CARE STEVE.

  2. 2 amy patterson
    November 16, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    I just have to say thank you for sharing this journey.your whole family is amazing and i feel so blessed.YOU are such a inspiration for my journey.You are on our prayer chains also.

    love you and thank you for being part of our life

  3. 3 Michael Stern
    November 16, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    Dan,

    I just learned of your health issues this weekend and it was from someone I didn’t known knew you. Steve and I have been shooting together (way too much says Karen) and we were talking boats and I asked if he every saw the Nancy D. He is the source of my info, until I talked to Dean and he gave me the blog address.

    Things sound like they are going well and the outlook is positive. Karen and I expect this to work out. We see you getting much older sitting with Nancy on the boat watching grand kids.

    Our thoughts are with you and your family for a full and speedy return to normal.

    Michael & Karen

  4. 4 Ann & Pat
    November 19, 2009 at 10:49 am

    Hi Dan,
    We were very happy about the MRI results. Remember, THEY CAN’T HURT STEEL. You have always been a rock for Nancy, the girls, and SNC.

    I did notice that you said there is only one thing wrong with you. Luckily, they have not begun the mental tests on Pat or I either. We can all still fool the world!

    Friends X one million,
    Ann & Pat

  5. 5 Liz: A friend of Will and Annie
    November 20, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    Hi:
    I worked with Will in OH, and I recently met your lovely daughter, Annie, and adorable Cecilia.
    Annie told me about your liver because I shared with her the fact that I have a liver disease. I have autoimmune hepatitis and supposedly cirrhosis.
    In the past, I have not followed orders regarding the medicines to treat the problems, but knowing that transplants are not given to those who are noncompliant or unwilling to make life adjustments has changed my mind. Also, knowing that you are doing all that you can to fight your condition inspires me. It helps to hear about “real” people in similar predicaments, and to know that there is hope. It also makes me feel terrible to know that there are people who would do anything to prolong life, and there I was, throwing it away and wasting physicians’ time by denying the problem or insisting I was invincible.
    Anyway, I want you to know that although I don’t know you, I pray for you and for your family.
    Over the summer, I tried to change my attitude, and I became somewhat involved in the American Liver Foundation. I raised money for the Foundation, and I was supposed to participate in the Liver Life Walk in Cleveland, OH. My mom ended up walking in my place because the situation Will and I went through at work made it impossible for me to attend the event. Shortly thereafter, I heard about your condition.
    I want you to know that a donation was made to the American Liver Foundation with you in mind (no names were given, but the contribution specified that it was being made on behalf of a friend’s father).
    I am glad that the radiation worked, and I wish you the best in all steps of the process toward obtaining a new liver and a new lease on life.
    Thank you for sharing and inspiring. I have faith and confidence that you will recover and enjoy life even more with restored health.
    ~Lil’ Librarian Liz with the Lousy Liver

  6. 6 Tracey Goffman
    December 5, 2009 at 9:09 am

    Dan, I am so happy to hear of your success with the Y90 radition therapy! Mike and I have been thinking of you often and keeping you in our prayers (which seem to be working!)

    I have the most recent reORGANized! newsletter published by the American Transplant Association. Within, it celebrates my Uncle Ron’s (Ron Rank) anniversary of his liver transplant which he successfully received in 1997! I know you have an abundance of resources, friends, and by now, probably many personal contacts with people who have had liver transplants. However, if you’d ever like to talk to my Uncle, I would be happy to make the introduction.

    All the best and happy holidays to you and Nancy (and all the rest of your clan!)

    Tracey

  7. December 21, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    Dan,

    What an exciting and wonderful update!!!! My thoughts and prayers are with you that the transplant happens soon. It will be a wonderful way to celebrate the holidays and the next step of life!!! My dad just celebrated 15 years since his liver transplant in May. It has given our family many years of triumphs and wonder. I wish the same for you.

    Can’t wait for the next update!

    Suzanne

  8. 8 John Chin
    August 20, 2015 at 11:58 pm

    Are you still alive?

  9. October 25, 2015 at 7:22 pm

    I am having a severe sciatic pain going down my right leg since I’ve has the Y90 done. All I have blood clots when I urinate. But this leg pain has been going on for about a month now.


Leave a Reply

