01
Oct
09

Today’s prep for the Y90 TheraSphere Treatment


The Y90 treatment is delivered though the vein exactly like an angiogram.  Today they did a “test run” on me.  The docs need to “map” the road thought the veins in order to get to the tumor so they can inject the beads.  The process is almost exactly like an angiogram for a heart patient.  They go through the same vein in the groin, but instead of going to the heart they go to the liver.  The “test run” is done for several reason.  They have to make sure the path to the tumor is clear with no road blocks, and the beads don’t find other roads letting the beads go to the lungs or Stomach. They blocked off a couple of roads to the tummy with little springs while they were in there. Besides, once they bring in the Y90 from Canada, the isotope needs to be degraded  before they can use it.  It appears there is a specific time window for the Y90 to be used so I had better not be late.

I arrived at Northwestern at 8:30 this morning.  Their typical efficiency prevailed.  The sedative is the same they use for colonoscopies and EGD’s – administered through an IV. I especially like the part where they actually  give you the drugs.  Good stuff, but they don’t allow doggy bags.  I tried to count backwards but didn’t get too far. The procedure is done in the interventional radiation department and the docs there are some of the best in the country.  Dr. Lewandowsky did my procedure.  Younger guy and very good at what he does.  The whole procedure was over by 1:00 PM.  He said it went very well, a 10 on a 10 scale.  In the next week or so they will do the actual procedure with the Y90, and now that everything is mapped it should go very quickly.  Speaking seriously, this was easier than going to the dentist.  At least for this proceedure it was a cake walk.  I was back home by 3PM busy doing office work.


6 Responses to “Today’s prep for the Y90 TheraSphere Treatment”


  1. 1 Elyse
    October 1, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    Dan (and Nancy) – This site is a wonderful idea! Your approach to this challenge is a great example of the human spirit and your positive approach is inspiring. Elyse

  2. October 2, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    Dan . . . you are a true wonder. This blog is about the most fabulous and interesting reading I’ve had in a very long time . . . and it’s so YOU. I love you, man, and I’m with you all the way. Maybe this blog will become the basis of a great book on this topic. OK if I pass this along to others in the group? Keep the faith. Clay . . . and my love to Nancy and Laurie and Annie as well.

  3. 3 Chris Lender
    October 4, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    Dan and Nancy,
    I’m so glad everything is going well so far. Stay positive, it is so very important. Prayers are being sent your way!

    With love,
    Chris L.

  4. 4 Colleen Pitts
    October 5, 2009 at 9:13 am

    Dan, your story is amazing. Thank you for providing this to so many – me included. As I hope and pray that my liver stays clear of a tumor, I am so thankful for you providing this vital information to me and so many others. You are in my prayers. Your positive attitude can be very contagious keep sending it out there for all to catch. My love to Nancy and all your loving family. Colleen

  5. 5 Sheila Lane
    October 21, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    My sister-in-law just got a PET scan 4 months after the treatment. The results were remarkable. Pam had a 3cm tumor and several lesions on her liver. We were very shocked when the doctor told us that the cancer on her liver was 100% gone. The treatment worked and we are so blessed. Pam will always have cancer, but we won this battle. God bless you.

  6. May 6, 2014 at 12:28 pm

    Thanks for every other excellent post. Where else could anybody get that type of info in such a perfect manner of writing?
    I’ve a presentation next week, and I am on the look for such
    information.


Leave a Reply

